Results of Abstract Submission: Accepted for Poster - Download List & Accepted for Oral - Download List

26ᵗʰ Annual Scientific Meeting of Indian National Association for Study of the Liver

2nd - 5th Aug 2018 | Hotel Pullman, Aerocity, New Delhi

Awards & Orations

Plenary Session Awards:

There are 3 awards for 3 best presentations in 'Plenary Session'.

INASL –Abbott Presidential Poster Awards:

There are 5 awards for 5 best poster presentations.

Life Time Achievement Award:

This award is bestowed upon a Senior Heptologists who has an outstanding contribution in the field of Liver Diseases as a researcher, teacher (Education) or a leader. All sub-specialties of Hepatology, such as, Pediatrics, Liver Transplant, Social and Preventive, Radiology, Pathology etc. are equally considered for this award.

Recipients of Life Time Achievement Award:

Mohammad Sultan Khuroo


Outstanding contribution in Hepatology :

  • The Hepatitis E Virus
  • Hepato-Biliary Pancreatic Ascites
  • Hepatic Vein Thrombosis

Badri Nath Tandon


Outstanding contribution in Hepatology :

  • Viral Hepatitis
  • Acute Liver Failure
  • Portal Hypertension

Jung B Dilawari


Outstanding contribution in Hepatology :

  • Portal Hypertension
  • Viral Hepatitis E
  • Portal carcinoma cholangiopathy

International Delegate Awards:

In order to felicitate International Delegates participation 'free registration, accommodation and airport transfers' will be provided to all International Delegates whose abstract is accepted for Poster Presentation. However a written request should be made separately to Prof. R K Dhiman, Secretary General, INASL ( to become eligible for this award.

INASL Orations

INASL orations are conferred on the Hepatologists who has outstanding clinical and research contribution in the field of Liver Disease.

Subhash R Naik Oration

Prof. SR Naik was born in Goa in 1943. After receiving his medical training at the Maulana Azad Medical College in New Delhi, he joined the Postgraduate Institute at Chandigarh in 1973 as Lecturer in Tropical Medicine. In 1982, he moved to KEM Hospital in Mumbai as a Professor in the newly established Department of Gastroenterology, which he helped set up. In 1987, he moved yet again this time to Lucknow to set up the Department of Gastroenterology at this institution, where he worked till his untimely death in 2002 at a young age.

Recipients of SR Naik Oration Award

  • 1. Subrat K Acharya - 2010
  • 2. F Blaine Hollinger - 2011
  • 3. Dieter Hussinger - 2012
  • 4. Carlo Merkel - 2013
  • 5. Mauro Benardi - 2014
  • 6. George Paptheodoridis - 2015
  • 7. Arun J Sanyal - 2016
  • 8. Timothy R. Morgan - 2017

SR Naik Oration: 2018

Title : Curing hepatitis B: Are we shooting for the moon

Geoffrey Dusheiko, Emeritus Professor of Medicine,
Kings College Hospital, UK

N. Madangopalan Oration

Born on 25th October, Prof N Madanagopalan obtained his MBBS degree in 1955 from Stanley Medical College winning medals, prizes and certificates of honour in most subjects and achieved the First rank in the University of Madras. He passed MD in Medicine in 1959 and received MRCP (Edinburg) with alimentary diseases as a special subject in 1960. On returning to India he joined his parent department of Medicine at Govt. General Hospital, Madras and established the Department of Gastroenterology in Madras Medical College in 1971. The symbiosis of passion for research (viral hepatitis, hepatocellular carcinoma, subacute hepatic failure, Coarctation of Inferior Vena Cava, role of adulterants of edible oil and tea leaves as cocarcinogens for HCC and adulteration of edible oil with rubber seed oil as cause for increasing prevalence of Chronic calcific pancreatitis) and his zeal for teaching enabled him to probe into unsolved problems spanning the spectrum of epidemiological, clinical and investigative aspects in gastroenterology. This culminated in over 200 publications. The N Madangopalan Oration was instituted by the Indian Association for Study of the Liver in the year 2003 to commemorate the memory and contributions. This year’s oration will be delivered by Dr. Vivek A Saraswat.

Recipients of N Madanagopalan Oration Award

  • 1. Andrew Burroughs - 2010
  • 2. Vijay Shah - 2011
  • 3. Yogesh K Chawla - 2012
  • 4. Deepak Amarapurkar - 2013
  • 5. Rakesh Aggarwal - 2014
  • 6. Radha K Dhiman - 2015
  • 7. Vivek Saraswat - 2016
  • 8. Premashish Kar - 2017

Madangopalan Oration: 2018

Title : Hepatologists are Different: Be Distinguished

Shiv K Sarin, Director, ILBS,
New Delhi, India